Five Years On…

A long overdue hello to Family and Friends near and far. We truly hope you are all well and healthy and happy. Today is a somber anniversary, marking 5 years since Heather moved on into the next Plane of Being. It’s so damn hard to wrap my head around the passing of that much time and all that has happened since. I had promised Heather to keep this blog updated from time to time and got lovingly scolded by Abby recently for a lack of posting anything. Watching our girls mature and grow, excel in school and everything else, makes me so very proud to be their Dad.

Most of you know that our family has grown, that we were blessed to be connected with my amazing and loving partner Nicole and her three wonderful children. A 21st Century Brady Bunch. Our mutual friend Amanda, mentioned in many of Heather’s posts here, eventually put two and two together. Or more accurately, three and four! She knew that Nicole and I would be perfect for each other, after everything we had both been through, and yup, we’ve been together ever since.

Nicole and the kids moved in with the girls and I less than two weeks before the COVID lockdown began; her kids barely had a week in the school system before we were all quarantined together! Of course there were challenges, but nothing that love and laughter couldn’t handle, and we all thrived together. As a friend of mine mentioned at the time, it sounded like we had the least boring house in all of lockdown – and it definitely was. We essentially lived in permanent summer camp mode with Penny Boards, soccer, a foozball table we found on the side of the road, Nicole’s giant trampoline, never-ending inside jokes, baking, crafts, arts, and house and garden projects. Not to mention our menagerie of dogs (Rosalee & Marley), cats (Pumpkin & Duby), fish, and Dex the bearded dragon!

There have been some tough times too. We lost Nicole’s beloved Mom two summers ago, another shitty, untimely loss to cancer. And my dear Mom passed away this past Christmas at 87 after a challenging few months. She is now finally at rest with my Dad at Arlington National Cemetery. They are all so missed.

All of us miss Heather deeply and take every chance we can to honor her and her memory. We feel her blessing us and shining down on our family every day. She lives on through all of us and all of you.

A huge, heart-felt thank you to each and every one of you for all of your love and support in the past, present, and future. Big Love to All. More to come – I promise 🙂

8 thoughts on “Five Years On…

  1. So nice to read this and hear that while we all hold Heather in our hearts forever, you and the girls have found a second chance at happiness and a beautiful family. Sending you all love! xo

    Like

  2. Big Love to you, Nicole & the whole family.
    I still keep the little pin with the photo of Heather on my dresser to remind me to always live life, full and present. (I’m not sure who made it or where I got it) I miss her big personality and I can still hear her laugh.
    It’s been so wonderful watching your family grow and seeing the girls thrive. ❤️❤️❤️

    Like

  3. i see that you have posted dad, I love you so much and i miss mom and anyone else we have lost so much. Words cant explain how much I miss her. I am so happy you posted again. It really makes me happy. Especially after what happened in my little mention in the beginning haha. looking forward to maybe some more posts some point in the future. I love mom sooo much and I love you so much. I am so grateful to have you. ❤️

    Like

  4. Bill!!
    Heather says hello from time to time as she comes through in a dream or in pictures that appear so often on the I phone in those compilation memories…. and especially feeling & remembering her when I hear Band of Horses and The Shins, it makes me smile and or well up a bit.
    Thank you Bill for the update; great to hear you and the girls are thriving. Knowing you found love again is a wonderful silver lining for you all, this is encouraging and also makes me smile.
    BIG LOVE!
    Kelly

    Like

  5. That is a beautiful update❣️ it doesn’t seem like 5 years have passed since we were all privileged to follow Heather’s brave battle.  She showed us how to live in the moment with joy❗️Thanks for the ever evolving update…love to all members of your blended family. Aunt Peggy 

    Sent from the all new AOL app for iOS

    Like

  6. Thank you so much for the update Bill. I’m so happy you’ve found happiness after the loss of Heather, while still holding her (as we all do) in our hearts.

    Abby – you may not remember who I am, but I loved your mom very much, and your note is so sweet and loving.

    – Greg

    Like

  7. Thanks for sharing this beautiful update! I can’t believe it’s been 5 years already! We absolutely miss Heather. Glad you are doing well!
    🙏🏾
    Natasja

    Like

  8. I know this is late, but this update is so beautiful. I read this a few days ago but it made my day to see that you had posted. Love you dad❤️
    – Izzy

    Like

Leave a comment